Tags

, , , , , , , ,

How far along? 36 weeks today! Next week is FULL TERM! =D

image1

Total weight gain:  14ish lbs. Little I is in the packing-on-the-pounds stage of development, so it makes sense that I would be gaining a fair amount too! We’ll see if I manage to stay under what I gained with N (22 lbs).

Food cravings: Sugar and sweet have made their way into my cravings with vengeance! Chocolate and orange juice have been the two main culprits. I’m trying to limit myself to naturally sweet things like fruit or even some peanut butter for sweet plus protein, but sometimes, only that Hershey bar will do. ;D

Anything making you queasy or sick: Stress is still a big nausea-inducer. Also, if I eat too much, I’ll get queasy, and this doesn’t take much! Little I is taking up a lot of room! Often, I’ll eat 5-6 bites and then have to wait a while before I can eat more because I already feel full.

Symptoms: Heartburn, heartburn, HEARTBURN. It has been really bad at night over the last few weeks. I’m so glad to know that it will go away after birth! I have also been officially diagnosed with Symphysis Pubic Dysfunction, which is about as pleasant as it sounds. During pregnancy, the body releases the relaxin hormone, which helps the joints and ligaments relax more to allow a baby to be born. SPD is when the body produces too much relaxin, and the joints, especially the pelvic joints, move in and out of place constantly and very painfully. It makes turning over in bed, getting out of bed, and getting dressed next to impossible for me. Thankfully, I’ve been seeing a great chiropractor, and most recently a great physical therapist who are helping me manage the pain and discomfort. SPD should go away immediately after birth, since the relaxin hormone will leave my system. I am definitely ready for that!

Other than that, overheating, headaches, insomnia, and generally feeling like a waddling whale lol. =)

Mood: A bit stressed. There’s still quite a bit to do before this little miss arrives, and it’s really starting to hit me that I’m going to go through labor again (ug!) and just how many things are going to change, especially for N. I’m doing my best to leave it in God’s hands, where it belongs!

Sleep: Sleep is still a bit hit or miss. Generally, I can get 3-4 hours of sleep (5 if I’m especially lucky) before I either need to pee, take some tums, turn over (if I lay on one side too long, I get these terrible deep aches in my legs), or drink some water. I’m just thankful that all my moving around doesn’t disturb Ry or N too much.

Dreams: I know that I’m having them, but can’t remember them!

Kicking Patterns: Still an insane amount of movements, although they have noticeably slowed this week because I think she’s just about run out of room!

Appointments: I had my 35 week appointment last week. Everything looked great! Little I’s heartbeat was solid at 150bpm, and we actually got to see her! The attending doc brought in a little portable ultrasound machine because she wanted to check and make sure Little I was head down and not breech. The quality was pretty poor (it was an ancient machine), but we saw her feet and her hands and her little face (definitely head down!) and her eyes were open! At our 20 week ultrasound, her eyes were closed, so it was a treat to see her big big eyes! =D

Preparations for baby: We put a lot of prep for Little I on hold because of the holidays, but we’re slowly getting back into the swing of things because there is still a fair amount left to do! I got my breast pump ordered through my insurance, I got my TDaP shot and Ry got his flu shot. We also ordered N’s new carseat. N LOVES it! She keeps thanking us over and over for her ‘pretty big girl chair’.

We still need to get a few more things out of our apartment to make room for a new changing table and nightstand. Downsizing and clearing stuff out is so rewarding but it takes a lot of work! Once we get the changing table, I’ll need to organize Little I’s things and get her clothes ready for her. Car seat covers, swing covers, and Rock n’ Play covers need to be washed, the infant bathtub brought in from storage and rinsed out, lactation cookies and chocolate chip cookies baked and padsicles made. Not to mention packing a hospital bag for me and Ry and an overnight bag for N. There’s probably a few things I’m forgetting, but I think that’s enough to start with for now lol. =)

~

I still can’t believe I’m going to be holding this sweet girl in about a month! Maybe even less than that! I know I’m going to cry so many tears of joy when she’s born and in my arms. We prayed so hard for this child, and after two miscarriages, I wondered if I would have any more children, if N would have a sibling to grow up with. I’m so thankful that God’s answer to those questions was ‘YES!’.

image1 (2)

